On 27th October the remastered 40th anniversary edition of Johnny Thunders and the Heartbreakers ‘L.A.M.F. – the lost ’77 mixes’   is released.

The Heartbreakers – Johnny Thunders, Walter Lure, Billy Rath (replacing Richard Hell) and Jerry Nolan – were formed in 1975 out of the ashes of the New York Dolls.  In 1977 they were at the centre of the London punk scene, having been invited by the Sex Pistols onto the infamous ‘Anarchy Tour’.  UK punks treated the US band as rock royalty because of their New York Dolls pedigree.  Pistols’ manager Malcolm McLaren had briefly managed the Dolls in New York.

Signing to The Who’s label, Track Records, they were treated to the best recording studios in London to record their only album, ‘L.A.M.F.’.  But when the LP came out, there was universal criticism of the sound quality.  Journalists who’d been championing the band such as Jon Savage, Julie Burchill, Nick Kent, Tony Parsons et al criticised the ‘muddy mix’, and drummer Jerry Nolan left the band because of it.

Both Track and the Heartbreakers ran out of money and collapsed when the album didn’t sell to expectations.  Manager Leee Black Childers broke into the bankrupt Track offices to retrieve the multitracks and many mixes (though not the master), leading to efforts to remix the album in 1984 and finally, after Johnny and Jerry’s death, to recompile it in 1994.  Since then, it’s been regularly acclaimed as a classic:-

To coincide with the album’s 40th anniversary in 2017, it’s been repackaged and remastered. The album comes with a 20-page booklet with the background story by Johnny Thunders’ biographer Nina Antonia, together with lyrics.  Nina’s ‘Johnny Thunders – In Cold Blood’ biography is due to coincide as its first e-book publication.

Recently Walter Lure, the co-frontman, songwriter and sole surviving Heartbreaker, has been performing ‘L.A.M.F.’ with an all-star line-up: Clem Burke of Blondie, Tommy Stinson of The Replacements and Guns & Roses, and Wayne Kramer of the MC5.  More Walter dates with an illustrious line-up are due to be announced in the USA soon.

Track listing
01 Born To Lose.
02 Baby Talk.
03 All By Myself.
04 I Wanna be Loved.
05 It’s Not Enough.
06 Chinese Rocks.
07 Get Off The Phone.
08 Pirate Love.
09 One Track Mind.
10 I Love You.
11 Goin’ Steady.
12 Let Go.
13 Can’t Keep My Eyes On You.
14 Do You Love Me.
Label : Jungle Records
Cat Number : FREUDCD044R

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Mayhem Music Magazine