Post-Rock Collective GOD IS AN ASTRONAUT Announces 10th Studio Album, “Ghost Tapes #10”


GOD IS AN ASTRONAUT Unveils New Album Details


Pre-Order HERE!


Reigning as one of the most well-known and highly critically acclaimed experimental instrumental groups out there with a respected musical legacy spanning nearly 20 years, Irish four-piece GOD IS AN ASTRONAUT will reach a career benchmark upon the release of their 10th studio album, Ghost Tapes #10 (out February 12, 2021 via Napalm Records).
Along with an artful black and white music video (by Chariot Of Black Moth), the hypnotizing first offering “Burial” captivates with atmospheric yet melancholic, bewitching instrumental lines, and GOD IS AN ASTRONAUT’s full extent of power. The seven-minute piece showcases the band’s unique ability to explore plaintive wistfulness and shuddering riffs, forming a perfect storm whilst also creating intense sonic-spheres that are second to none.

“The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.”
Robert Frost
Pre-Order the new album NOW:
Ghost Tapes #10 is certainly the most ferocious GOD IS AN ASTRONAUT full-length to date – it still retains all the rich musical and emotive elements the band is known for by wheeling around luminance, but offering its harsh and deep reminiscences as well. Works of art like “Burial”, “In Flux” and “Barren Trees”, with additional guitars by Jimmy Scanlan,amongst others are proof of these creations of sound. The album’s closer, the atmospheric“Luminous Waves”, captivates in a trance-like mindset – putting one deeply in touch with their inner self, drifting away to stirring tunes of guest cello virtuoso Jo Quail.
The artwork was illustrated by David Rooney, who has worked with the band in the past, and plays into the sense of the foreboding and uncertain times we live in. Ghost Tapes #10 will be available as a four-page digipack as well as in multiple limited LP options.
1.   Adrift
2.   Burial
3.   In Flux
4.   Spectres
5.   Fade
6.   Barren Trees
7.   Luminous Waves
[LP Gatefold Vinyl Deluxe SPLATTER WHITE/GOLD/BLACK, Brush Print Metal Plate]
Ghost Tapes #10 will be available in North America in the following formats:
–   LP Gatefold Vinyl BLACK
–   LP Gatefold Vinyl GOLD (limited to 300 copies)
–   LP Gatefold Vinyl Deluxe SPLATTER WHITE/GOLD/BLACK + Brush Print Album Cover Metal Plate, Slipmat (strictly limited to 100 copies)
–   LP Gatefold Vinyl SPLATTER WHITE/BLACK (limited to 300 copies)
–   Four-page CD Digipak
–   Digital Album
[artwork: David Rooney,]
Torsten Kinsella – Guitar, Piano/Synths
Niels Kinsella – Bass
Lloyd Hanney – Drums
Jamie Dean – Guitar, Piano

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Mayhem Music Magazine